Nomination Information

ACS ChemEd Southwest Region Award for Excellence in High School Teaching

Mrs. Usha Devathosh is a passionate chemistry instructor at North Houston Early College High School. She has over 12 years of teaching experience in Houston ISD and four years in Houston Community college as an adjunct chemistry professor. She worked in Oceanography, Environmental Science and Biotechnology industrial research laboratories after receiving her Master of Science in Organic Chemistry, Bachelor of Science in Chemistry, and a Bachelor of Science Degree in Education. She is currently pursuing a doctoral degree in education with a major in curriculum and instruction and expecting graduation in December 2018. Mrs. Devathosh is a third-place recipient of 2018 Ernest and Sarah Butler award for excellence in Science Teaching by Texas Medical Association and received the Thomas Aczel Award for Outstanding High School Chemistry Teacher in 2014 by American Chemical Society. She was finalist for KBR Science Teacher award in 2013. She has presented at various conferences which includes Space Exploration Educator inter-national conference- Space Center, Houston – 2012. Mrs. Devathosh is a member of American Chemical Society, Science Teacher Association of Texas, Associate Chemistry Teachers of Texas and American Educational Research Association.  

E. Ann Nalley Regional Award for Volunteer Service to the ACS Southwest Region

Dr. Kayla N. Green is a native Texan, born and intellectually raised in the Lone Star State. Dr. Green obtained a Ph.D. in Inorganic Chemistry under the direction of Marcetta Darensbourg at Texas A&M University in 2007 studying resin bound synthetic models of Acetyl CoA Synthase and Hydrogenase enzymes. Her interests in applied inorganic chemistry led her to the Advanced Imaging Center where she completed post-doctoral studies under the direction of Dr. Dean Sherry at the UT Southwestern Medical Center in Dallas. In 2010, Dr. Green started her independent career at Texas Christian University in Fort Worth, and was promoted to the rank of associate professor in 2016. Her research team focuses on the development of small molecules as therapeutics for diseases caused by oxidative stress, novel catalysts for challenging hydrocarbon transformations, and electrochemical biosensors. Her work has been supported by the National Institutes of Health, the Robert A. Welch Foundation, Cambridge Isotope Laboratories, Inc., and the Moncrief Foundation. She has been recognized as an Emerging Investigator by the American Chemical Society (2015) and by the Journal of Coordination Chemistry (2016). Dr. Green serves as the National Chemistry Week Coordinator for the Dallas-Fort Worth Section of ACS. She is one of three faculty sponsors for TCU Chemistry Club. K-12 outreach and STEM education are of particular importance to Dr. Green. TCU has been extremely supportive of initiatives established by the TCU Chemistry Club including Chemistry Connections at the Fort Worth Museum of Science and History, the College Bound Transitional Program for at risk high school students, the Burton Hill After School Science Club, and many others. Over 25,000 DFW residents and visitors have benefited by the work carried out to date.

Southwest Region ACS Award


Dr. Satomi Niwayama was born and received all her degrees in Japan earning BS and MS degrees in chemistry from the University of Tsukuba and in 1989, her Ph.D. in synthetic organic chemistry at the University of Tokyo. She has been an NATO postdoctoral fellow and served as research assocciate before assuming a position as Assistant Professor in the Department of Chemistry at Oklahoma State University in 1998. Later in 2004, she became an Associate Professor in the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry, Texas Tech University in 2004. She moved to Muroran Institute of Technology, Japan, as full Professor in 2014. Since 2017, she has been serving as Chair of the Course of Biosystem, the Department of Applied Sciences, and Head of the Division of Sustainable and Environmental Engineering, Graduate School of Engineering, Muroran Institute of Technology, Japan. Currently she also holds a position of Adjunct Professor at Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center, and a position of Guest Professor at Osaka University, Japan. 

Dr. Niwayama’s research interests are mainly in synthetic organic chemistry, including development of environmentally benign organic reactions in aqueous media. Since 1998, she has pioneered the development of practical water-mediated desymmetrization reactions of symmetric compounds, allowing large-scale production of the products and hence industrial application. She has developed highly selective and efficient monohydrolysis of symmetric diesters in the aqueous media. Her research combines fundamental knowledge of basic science and a practical aspect of process chemistry that is environmentally benign. Her findings have interdisciplinary importance for organic chemistry, analytical chemistry, and theoretical chemistry and were featured as a cover story in the Chemical and Engineering News

Dr. Niwayama also researches bioorganic chemistry applying small organic molecules to development of proteomic methodologies for quantitative analysis of peptides and proteins. During her residence in the Southwest Region, these research programs have earned her the Morita Science Research Promotion Award, Banyu Award in Synthetic Organic Chemistry, National Science Foundation–CAREER Award, the Japanese Society for Process Chemistry Award for Excellence, and ACS PROGRESS/Dreyfus Lectureship Award.

Southwest Region ACS Award

Stanley C. Israel Regional Award 

The Stanley C. Israel Regional Award recognizes individuals and/or institutions who have advanced diversity in the chemical sciences and significantly stimulated or fostered activities that promote inclusiveness within the region. 

Deadline – August 1 

The award recognizes a person who, resides in the Southwest Region of the ACS, has made meritorious contributions to the advancement of chemistry, chemical engineering, chemical education, either pure or applied, to the profession in general. Submit nomination forms to Dr. Sara Hubbard at 

Deadline – September 1

Partners for Progress and Prosperity (P3) Award

The award recognizes partnerships among industry, academia, government, small businesses and/or other organizations that result in impactful outcomes. Submit nomination forms (bottom of page) to Dr. Sara Hubbard at

Deadline – September 1

ACS SWRM Student Travel Award

SWRM will provide up to ten $500 travel scholarships. Guidelines include each local section may nominate one student, who must be presenting a paper and  be in good standing with SWRM (all dues, both past and current, paid). Abstract must be included in  application package to demonstrate merit. Priority will be given to students traveling the farthest to the meeting, based on the mileage from the home institution (which must be in the Southwest Region of the ACS) Submit nomination forms to Dr. Sara Hubbard at